International Telecommunications Society

ITS; the International Telecommunications Society; is an association of professionals in the information, communications, and technology sectors. It is an independent, non-aligned and not-for-profit organization with a worldwide network of about 400 members. ITS focuses on the evolving applications, services, technology, and infrastructure of the communications, computing, internet, information content, and related industries.

ITS organizes local and regional symposia, seminars, workshops, and courses. It also encourages and supports the participation of young researchers in its conferences. ITS Research results and news are disseminated by ITS to its members and to the general public via traditional and electronic means including telecommunications policy, the membership journal of ITS, the ITS Newsletter, and the ITS Web site:

National Telecom Regulatory Authority

The National Telecom Regulatory Authority (NTRA) of Egypt, was established by means of the Egyptian Telecommunication  law No. 10/2003 as the national authority equipped to regulate and administer ICT sector.

NTRA mandate extends –to name a few- to licensing operators and service providers, ensuring high levels of fair competition in the telecoms market, ensuring the quality of services, customer protection, cyber-security, management of spectrum, and partnering with academic hubs to encourage and generate academic research in the field of telecommunications as the building block for telecom industry advancement.

NTRA pays special attention to harboring academic research in the field of telecommunications through its tailored R&D department, following a systematic plan of sponsoring young local researchers.

To that end, NTRA launched seven Calls for Research Proposals (CFPs), the last of which was in January 2018 offering to sponsor Egyptian academic researchers working on relevant topics. Moreover, NTRA sponsors graduation projects in the fields of telecommunications on a yearly basis. Finally, NTRA support for academic research extends internationally through forming consortia with its academic partners to participate in international research cooperation projects such as the European Commission’s Framework Programs (FPs) for research and technological developments.

Aswan University

The University of Aswan was established in 1976 as a branch of Assuit University. The university started operating in October of the academic year 1973/1974 with the faculty of education. The first bachelor degree of the faculty was awarded in 1978, afterwhich the enrollment in the Master’s Degree of the faculty of science, as well as the Ph.D. program, commenced in the academic year 1977/1978. In 1995 South Valley University was established by the presidential decree no. 23 acceding Aswan University to it as an affiliate instead of Assuit University.The change of Aswan University affiliation lead to the establishment of new faculties such as thefaculties of arts,of social work,and engineering.

In 2012 Aswan University was pronounced as an independent governmental university by the presidential decree no. 311 and it now includes 15 faculties. It comprises of 6 campuses and 6 university dorms located in Aswan City.